10 things I learned from traveling

I know, in comparison to other travel bloggers I haven´t traveled that much, but I still got taught some (I guess really important) lessons from it, I want to share with you.

  1.  “Fill your life with experiences, not things. Have stories to tell, not stuff to show.”
    Through traveling I learned that you do not need 1000 of new clothes every season and it is not a necessity to own the latest phone or spent much money on materialistic things. Rather spend your money on adventures than on things. Because memories can make you so much happier than anything else!
  2. Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.
    Without experiencing something new, you will never know what life and our beautiful world has to offer. By learing and pushing yourself to the limits you also get to know yourself better.
  3. Walk with the knowledge that you are never alone.
    This really helped me so much, because I guess everybody feels alone from time to time. However, through traveling I learned that there are so many inspiring people outthere who can motivate you and share their own experiences and stories.
  4. There are no mistakes in life, just lessons.
    It doesn´t matter how much you plan your trips in advance, some things will go wrong! But what I´ve learned is that because of the worst mistakes something wonderful can happen and we only grow by accident!
  5. Once you become fearless, life becomes limitless.
    For sure I have been scared while traveling solo, however, by facing them I discovered that most of them where just in my head. With this in mind, I was so much more self-confident and outgoing.
  6. We rise by lifting others.
    Everyone is thankful when he is in a new country and someone helps him to find the way. Because I learned how much you sometimes have to relay on the kindness of others, I also try to help others more. For example to help a tourist finding his way or giving someone the money for his bus ticket!
  7. Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life.
    When you stand in front of a huge building or the ocean, you can either take a picture and leave or you can enjoy the view for a few minutes and be thankful for the amazing opportunity to travel the world, meet new people, explore different countries and get to know other cultures.
  8. Use your smile to change the world. Don´t let the world change your smile.
    When you need something (to find your hostel, get a ticket cheaper, …) smile – it will help A LOT! But not only if you want something materialistic, but also when you want to meet new people. You just seem more open-minded and positive. Share your happiness you will for sure gain from traveling.
  9. Slow down and everything you are chasing will come around and catch you.
    I love to visit big cities and hustle through the streets and take the metro to get from one place to another. Just to see as much as possible in quite a short time. However, I always try to find some time and just sit down. Either in a park or a nice bar. I found out that it is so important to take your time and just enjoy the moment.
  10. Home is not a place, it is a feeling.
    Yes, there is no place like home. But home is so much more than just a house. It is family and shared love, it is laughter and memories connecting people. Yes, I love traveling but I also love to share my thoughts and experiences with my loved ones. But I have also been to countries/cities where I immediately felt like home. And that´s so important for me. That the whole world can be like home, if you are outgoing, happy and grateful!
Leave a Reply

